About Us

About Us

We are a traditional family-run pub located in the heart of Barham, Kent. After running various successful businesses across London and Kent, we decided to challenge ourselves in 2019 with this beautiful countryside pub and we haven’t looked back since.

We love the traditionalism of British country pubs with local hops decor, which we have implemented and love to refresh annually with the newly harvested hops, all the while bringing a Mediterranean twist to your visit.

History & Heritage

The inn was originally built as a house for Joshua Quested in 1749 and holds a lot of fascinating history within its walls.

It is known that Thomas Quested, his son, registered the house under the title of ‘the Duke of Cumberland’ in honour of William Angus, Duke of Cumberland, (1721-1765) British General. He was the third son of George II who earned the nickname ‘The Butcher’ because of his brutal repression of the highlanders after the Battle of Culloden in 1746.

It is unsure why that title was specifically chosen for the inn, but is suspected that Thomas Quested took that secret to his grave in 1792. Interestingly, the first ale ever drawn in this house was in October 1766 once procuring a licence, but it didn’t actually become a fully registered Inn until Charles Hornsby (longest serving keeper of 35 years) obtained one during his ownership of the house in 1838.